Cultureculturebooksreading

Sun Mar 19, 2017, 03:37 PM

What Are You Reading? March 19, 2017

I'm almost finished reading The Year's Best Science Fiction Fourteenth Annual Collection, which is edited by Gardner Dozois. This anthology has better stories than previous such anthologies have had.

Before that I read Freezing Point by Karen Dionne. A Los Angeles company, in order to provide fresh water to its drought-stricken city, has taken over and is going to melt an iceberg off Antarctica. Before reading this book I hadn't known there were rats on Antarctica. Unless that's fiction.

And before that I read a real dud--The Island by Heather Graham. This was one of those extremely rare books I didn't finish because it was very boring.

9 replies, 227 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 9 replies Author Time Post
Reply What Are You Reading? March 19, 2017 (Original post)
Argentina Mar 2017 OP
Cold Warrior Mar 2017 #1
Argentina Mar 2017 #2
Cynical Mar 2017 #3
The Center Holds Mar 2017 #4
Argentina Mar 2017 #6
The Center Holds Mar 2017 #9
Sardis Mar 2017 #5
Argentina Mar 2017 #7
Sardis Mar 2017 #8

Response to Argentina (Original post)

Sun Mar 19, 2017, 04:18 PM

1. Just started

The 12:30 from Croydon by Freeman Wills Crofts. An English murder mystery in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers. Looking forward to a bit of fun.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Cold Warrior (Reply #1)

Sun Mar 19, 2017, 06:11 PM

2. Sounds good. I like mysteries.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Argentina (Original post)

Sun Mar 19, 2017, 09:38 PM

3. British Battleships 1906-1946

by Norman Friedman.

It goes into the design of the various battleships and battle cruisers England built and what decisions and the reasons behind those decision that led to the finalized design that was built.

Also reading HR McMaster's book "Dereliction of Duty" very well sourced, often by memos of the people directly involved.

LBJ, Sec of State, Sec of Def, the Joints Chiefs and Maxwell Taylor, advisor to the LBJ and later Ambassador to South Vietnam ALL should have been fired, impeached or other wise prosecuted. A lot of people died because of their lies, incompetence and cowardice.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Argentina (Original post)

Mon Mar 20, 2017, 11:49 AM

4. About halfway through The Black Widow, by Daniel Silva.

Just finished listening to 1984.

Waiting for the new C.J. Box novel, The Vicious Circle.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to The Center Holds (Reply #4)

Mon Mar 20, 2017, 04:28 PM

6. I'd like to read The Black Widow sometime. I like Silva's Gabriel Allon series.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Argentina (Reply #6)

Mon Mar 20, 2017, 04:55 PM

9. Yes, this is another in the series. It's starting slowly, and so far there's no fine art tie-in,

but he does a good job describing the fight against radical Islamism in Europe.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Argentina (Original post)

Mon Mar 20, 2017, 01:42 PM

5. Taking a break from presidential biographies

I'm just finishing up book 3 of Kim Stanley Robinsons "Red Mars/Green Mars/Blue Mars" trilogy. Went looking for some "hard" sci-fi and came away with this. Quite satisfied.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Sardis (Reply #5)

Mon Mar 20, 2017, 04:30 PM

7. I read and enjoyed Red Mars some years ago and would like to read Green Mars and Blue Mars.

They sound good.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Argentina (Reply #7)

Mon Mar 20, 2017, 04:33 PM

8. It's an incredible series,

truth be told, Red Mars was the standout. If you were only to read one, that would be the one I'd recommend. Green Mars and Blue Mars bring more of a political aspect to the story, and it can be dry at times.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Cultureculturebooksreading